top of page
Search
Yuzhen lang

Beginning Story

Hello! Welcome to my first blog! I am YuZhen Lang and I'm an international student in mathematics major at UCI. I believe that my life is full of energetic power and colorful surprises. I love making romantics for my family, my friends and myself. And I always engaged in something that could relax me, such as, watching horror movies, playing the piano and going outside.


Actually, I joined the Academic English 20C in my first year. Now, I'm in Sophomore year. I remember impressively that AE 20C is concentrated on Research paper. The instructor created an animated classroom for us and make sense on how to synthesis, summary, paraphrasing and citation.


I am a communicator. I prefer to accept others' suggestions and consider those advantages to my paper or assignment. I write things for communicate with others. However, I have weaknesses on citation and paraphrasing. I used do bad work on paraphrasing sources and cite source in wrong version. The most impressive thing is the last paper in AE 20C. I change three times for the references page. Nevertheless, I think that I'm good at summary. I can find the main idea clearly and efficiently through an article. I try to read more books and make highlights for practice.

The language and grammar diagnostic test provide 50 questions. Before doing the test, I was confident. Unfortunately, I made errors in some problems.The correct of punctuation use confused me a lot of questions. I try to understand the use of double quotation and punctuation.


The topic of Writing 39A is about Disney & Gender. I'm totally a Disney fan, so I really expect the learning process in this course. This course would improves our reading, writing and communicating skill. It largely explore our ability in understanding sources and make discussion on topics. The Grade Contract is good for students improving. Students are not write for grade. However, students write for expressing their idea based on their own understanding, which is a efficient way to strengthen thinking skill. Moreover, Instructor will give feedback on each assignments wrote by students. Under the circumstances, students know their mistakes and understand the right way. As a result, students get an outstanding outcome for Writing 39A.







28 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5 Comments


baiyuw
Jan 18, 2021

Hello Yuzhen, same as you I also a sophomore, but majoring in sociology. I also need to pay more attention on punctuation. I hope I can such that problem through 39A.


Like

Yian Lin
Yian Lin
Jan 18, 2021

Hi Yuzhen:

Similar to you, I did not do well in my diagnostic test. Based on the result, I found I need to improve more on concepts like the use of punctuation.


Like

Jiayi Chen
Jiayi Chen
Jan 18, 2021

Hi Yuzhen, I am also a sophomore majoring math and appreciate your attitude that you always bring surprise to your surroundings. Moreover, I have difficulties in making citations as well, and it takes a long time to adapt to it.

Like

Jenny Kim
Jenny Kim
Jan 17, 2021

Hi Yuzhen,

I found it interesting how you wrote about accepting other people's suggestions and write about those. However, I think we all have valid opinions and it would help develop your writing to also write about your own thoughts! Good luck in this course!!

Like

yifeip5
Jan 14, 2021

In the beginning, everyone will make grammatical errors. My results in The language and grammar diagnostic test are not very good. I like your painting very much, I think it is very dreamy.

Like
bottom of page