top of page
Search
Yuzhen lang

Final Reflection

WR 39A actually teaches me a lot, not only on my basic writing skill, but also on other areas, such as reading, collaborating, peer review, self reflection and etc.

I definitely confronted difficulties during the learning progress for this course. I’m going to state my two most transformative learning experiences and two problems and a plan for the future.

First, WR 39A creates an account for students’ learning process on McGraw-Hill Connect. For the first time I try Practice Session. I’m concern about the accuracy for my answer. So I always be careful doing every question and hesitate with the “Unsure” button. However, the practice session doesn’t pay attention on our correct answer for grade. The rule gives me a lot of confidence. Moreover, there is a learning material if I miss more than two problems. I was energetic by that, and start to accept more unknown information. This moment helps my reading and writing skills.

Second, the close reading practice provides effective reading method. Before I try the activity on Connect, I used to read whole essay at first. Under the circumstance, I often forget what is the essay contend at the beginning. Nevertheless, after I complete the close reading practice, I begin to make annotations and follow each steps when I want to find important information from sources. This work benefits my composing skill and the ability for collecting useful information efficiently.


Next, I’m going to share my two problems happened during this quarter. They are time issue and collaborative issue.

Firstly, I face a time issue seriously. Due to the different time zone, I think I can complies my first draft of analysis essay before the deadline and finish the self-review activity on Connect. However, because the internet problem, I failed to complete this assignment. This mistake teaches me that I will never leave an important task for the last time. I will doing preparation at the first time and make revision at the last time.

In addition, I have a collaborative issue during the group project, Podcast. Because our groups are five people and we all have different characteristics, there is a problem on the design of the topic, script and microsite. Fortunately, we finally make an agreement on each sections. This is because we distribute everyone’s responsibility, and we only focused on self part and sometimes give suggestions and help to other parts. In the future, I will have the collaboration method and share to my future group mates.

Overall, I really enjoy the learning journey in Writing 39A.

24 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Hello Yuzhen,

In the blog you mentioned the utility of the McGraw-Hill Connect. I felt it was useful for me because it provided me with information I did not know. I am sorry that the time zone difference made it complicated for you to complete the assignments. I wish you success in your classes !


Like

Chengheng Lyu
Chengheng Lyu
Mar 14, 2021

Hi, Yuzhen! It's good to see how you and your group finally solve the problem the podcast. I think I could also learn from you. Hope you can do well in your future classes. Good bye!

Like

Yian Lin
Yian Lin
Mar 14, 2021

Hello Yuzhen! It is a great experience to work with you in the podcast project. I especially want to thank you for pointing out and fixing the problems of the microsite. This podcast project is my first collaborative project at UCI. The process is not easy but we finally made it. Good luck in your final week!

Like

Jialin Mei
Jialin Mei
Mar 13, 2021

Hi Yuzhen! It's so nice to see you and your group finally tackled the collaborative problem though you all have different characteristics! I think that would an important lesson for you, except the content that you guys could talk about the course question and the topic. Next time, trying to distributing roles or tasks for each group member before actually writing the script for podcast would be a better choice. For letting others to choose task before preparation, stating and clarifying your own task or role at first seems like an effective way. Hope you would not meet that collaborative problem again in your following team work, and hope you have a nice final week!

Like
bottom of page