top of page
Search
Yuzhen lang

Habits of Mind

Curiosity

This is a fantastic word to describe my feeling about past weeks. I received many assignments. Before to do the assignments, I always curious about what is inside and how to understand the text.


Openness

The most important challenge for this course is to think about relationship between Disney and Gender. When I was a child, I only watched Disney fairy tale for appreciate the true love story. However, after I take this course, I started view Disney films in a new way. For example, for the film Beauty and Beast, I have never related the characters with female or male beauty and toxic masculinity. But I really analyze the connection. The exploratory writing indeed gave me a surprise.


Engagement

For my writing 39A journey, I spend one to two hours per day in a week. I engaged in the films from Disney and like to connect the scene with the real world.


Creativity

To make a website for ourselves is a representative creativity in this course. Additionally, I expect to do the podcast assignment with my group.


Persistence

I persist to read and write during my journey. Some writing is hard to finish, for instance, the annotation from video or film. Nevertheless, I never give up and try my best to complete.


Flexibility

I see "Flexibility"in the course form. I can do my assignments any time I want during a week regardless the different time zone. Also, the grading policies are flexible.


Responsibility

I think that I haven't touch the word before. However, we have group assignment in the following weeks. The responsibility will be show on our group members.



Metacognition

The journey in writing 39A actually provide three approaches for my reflection. First, I did every week's reflection of my work. I post my blog to summarize my job for this week and then make analysis and comments. I believe that the weekly reflection is good for me to know what I learned and how I worked after I understand the definition. Second, I need to do the peer review for discussion assignment. Similarly, I will receive others' comments for my work. Sometimes I can see my mistakes. The approach benefit students to find their mistakes and correct. Third, the reflection from professor is crucial. Professor supplied a list of work. I could obtain the most important information in time.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page